14
Jun
10

Coach him up; Not down.

Encourage one another every day, as long as it is called “today…”

Hebrews 3:13a

Those of you who know me personally know how important encouragement is to me. It’s one of those things in life that just grips my heart. I’m a guy who oftentimes walks away from conversations with a marked tightness in my chest, praying that I was able to bring courage to whomever I was just talking with. Encouragement is life – to us, and to other people. But sometimes that’s easy to forget.

I was reminded again this morning.

I was listening to a message by Bill Hybels on my way into work and he related the following story told to him by a football coach friend of his.  As the story goes, a former player returned to see this coach more than a decade after he had played for him.  The player had never been very good, had not seen much playing time, and was not immediately memorable. However, he told the coach that he had changed his life, nonetheless.

The player talked about a day in practice where he made a foolish mistake and fumbled the ball. Irritated by his folly, an assistant coach came over, red-faced and screaming, and proceeded to dress him down somewhat cruelly in front of his teammates – everyone on the field was watching.

As the situation continued to deteriorate, the head coach quickly made us way over. Inserting himself between this player and the angry assistant coach, he shoved the assistant coach back several feet, quickly gaining everyone’s attention. The head coach then stated,”Coach him up, not down!” turned, and walked away.

That player went on to become the pastor of a large congregation, and has often thought back to that salient lesson when dealing with his people.

As for me, I’m going to file it away. “Coach him up!” I’ll think, when I’m encouraging another guy – even if he has made a mistake…

Paul says that we are to ‘coach each other up,’ every day! Why? So our hearts won’t be hardened by the deceitfulness of sin!

Coach each other up! Not down.

– Jer

2 Responses to “Coach him up; Not down.”


  1. 1 Moe
    June 15, 2010 at 8:00 am

    Great post. I remember once being discouraged and went to a friend of mine who has been in the gospels for a lot longer than me. This person’s response to my discouragement, “Get over it, and grow spiritually”. As you can imagine, I wasn’t very encouraged with that response. I never went back to that person for encouragement. As you post mentioned, we should be encouraging up. Not down.

    • June 20, 2010 at 9:12 am

      Absolutely, and where better do we see this then in the book of Job. His friends suck. They spew religious prescriptions at a man who just lost his entire life, capped with his wife telling him to “curse God and Die.” Moe I hope you and I both have friends that encourage us no mater the struggle. This life is long, the race is hard, encouragement is essential.


Leave a Reply

eNgage web site logo

A work in Progress

NEXT MEETING:

Wednesday Jan 26th 2011
8:00 AM - George Page Commons

Word of the Day

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Archives

Enter your E-mail and keep eNgaged to our new content by e-mail.

Join 11 other followers

Tweets


