16
Jun
10

Thankful for a Quarter Pounder

With an eighteen thousand dollar quarter drawing to an end, it all rides on (4) three hour blocks of time.  Nothing I have done in the last 14 weeks counts for nil except these singular exams; which I am reminded of by the constant narcissism and self centeredness of law students all around.  This attitude is pervasive, and I do not stand objectively at a distance, rather I effortlessly fall into line with them; smiling all the way hoping I am a little higher on the curve then they are.  Yet today God blessed me with a beautiful reminder of thanksgiving.  I was indescribably thankful, almost to the point of tears, as I enjoyed a quarter pounder at McDonalds.

Sure this is not my normal disposition towards cheeseburgers, but today was different.  As I drove home from Pepperdine after massive cramming, I had a car swerve across four lanes of traffic to cut me off.  As I attempted to swerve into the nearest lane my car began to fishtail.    I corrected only to find my tires spinning as if on ice; finally they grabbed shooting me into the center cement barrier around 65 mph.  I quickly ricocheted off the cement to the sound of metal and plastic exploding.  I desperately tried to counter steer but the momentum was too much.  Before I could think I was staring face first at oncoming traffic.  Yet Around I went, three hundred sixty degrees across four lanes of LA traffic.  My car stopped, but my heart and my adrenaline did not.  I grabbed myself in disbelief, no blood, no pain, or was I in shock?  I methodically checked myself over and over sure I had missed a broken bone or a blood stain; but I had not even sustained a scratch.  While filling police reports and taking care of administrative issues I pushed back the feelings that wanted to come, needed to come.  After being strong, and courageous, and holding it together, my spirit finally caught up with me.  My Wife Whitney had just arrived and as my car was towed away we went into McDonalds to recover.  The gravity of the situation set in and I prayed with all my heart to my God.

“God I thank you for life.  I thank you for your providence, and I thank you that I get to see my wife again.  I thank you for the chance to eat another meal and to take another breath.  I thank you for your hand in my life today allowing me to walk away unscathed; and the undeniable reminder that you want me here for a reason; and God I really really thank you for this quarter pounder.”

Despite the craziness of destroying my car a week before my first law school exams, I am thankful most of all for Gods reminder that life is precious, and I am called to love my God, and love my wife.  The rest comes somewhere after.

In his great hands, with great thanks,

Chris

0 Responses to “Thankful for a Quarter Pounder”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

eNgage web site logo

A work in Progress

NEXT MEETING:

Wednesday Jan 26th 2011
8:00 AM - George Page Commons

Word of the Day

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Archives

Enter your E-mail and keep eNgaged to our new content by e-mail.

Join 10 other followers

Tweets


