12
Jul
10

Isaiah 6 and Eminem

“Woe to me!” I cried. “I am ruined! For I am a man of unclean lips, and I live among a people of unclean lips, and my eyes have seen the King, the LORD Almighty.  Isaiah 7:5

As I drove to the gym before work I kept listening to Isaiah chapter 6 over and over again.  On my mind was verse 5.  For I am a man of unclean lips, and I live among a people of unclean lips.  And as it turns out, my IPOD spews out music that comes from unclean lips.

Eminem’s lyrical talent is undeniable, his underlying beats downright brilliant.  But the real slim shady who spits such raw, crass, “real,” lyrics brings two powerful thoughts to my mind.

1. People relate to those who don’t blow sunshine up their derrière but relate and enter into the common suffering.

2. More pointedly, that we live among a people of unclean lips.  That we need anointing, so we might see the King.

1 Response to “Isaiah 6 and Eminem”


  1. 1 jonny thin
    September 30, 2010 at 7:59 pm

    I agree. I remember when my mom went through my cd’s when I was in highschool and threw out the majority of – what I thought – my precious collection. After getting over it a week or month later, she remarked about how my daily attitude had changed. Which makes perfect sense, because as the bible teaches, “by beholding we become changed.” If we hold on to, or take in junky movies, music, books etc. it is what we will talk about and think about. For example, I have been in law school for the last 2 years. I find myself talking and thinking about lawschool when I am not in classes. It is just natural to do, because that is what I have been internalizing. Likewise, if you spend all day playing video games, you will talk to your friends about video games. Applying this to our spiritual life, if we daily spend time with Christ and in his word, we will naturally share it with others and think about its life applications when we see them. Think of the affect this could have. When we associate with others we will uplift them, both spiritually and socially, instead of talking about meaningless video games that will be outdated by next christmas.


Leave a Reply

eNgage web site logo

A work in Progress

NEXT MEETING:

Wednesday Jan 26th 2011
8:00 AM - George Page Commons

Word of the Day

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives

Enter your E-mail and keep eNgaged to our new content by e-mail.

Join 11 other followers

Tweets


