19
Sep
10

Where’s the Gold?

master blacksmith shaping metalWhere’s your gold?  Recently, we talked about being “metal men,” or men who are ready to be used for God’s nobler purposes according to 2 Timothy 2:20-21:

20In a large house there are articles not only of gold and silver, but also of wood and clay; some are for noble purposes and some for ignoble. 21If a man cleanses himself from the latter, he will be an instrument for noble purposes, made holy, useful to the Master and prepared to do any good work.

We then read the story of Joseph and challenged each other to “find the gold” that has been put in each of us by God: the gifts, the talents, and the character that we display for the world when we are at our best.

I challenge you to do the same.  Take some time to think about the man you are-not the titles you have or the roles you fill (such as salesman, director, student, husband, father, etc…), but that which was woven into who you were created to be by God.  When you take the time to find the gifts, talents, and character of who you are and when you know who you long to be at your core, you can live out of that strength and use the gifts God has placed in you to make a difference in the world around you for the Kingdom of God.

Here’s an example of what I put down:

Jesus guiding his disciples through the storm“I am a restorer: I work to redeem that which is fallen, broken, or lost; working to transform it into that which is forgiven, healed, and rooted.  This applies to people and relationships, but also to areas of this world.

I seek to lead with a quiet strength: leading others with a consistent and sure example-knowing that I am a son of the Most High God, established in His Truth, and assured of His love.”

I am a protector: I fight to advance my Father’s kingdom and establish beachheads of peace, hope, and rest in a battleground of turmoil and despair.

I am a guide: I point those who would seek it to God’s perspective and Truth.

As a group, eNgage is now trying to live out of our statements of who God created us to be.  This is impossible if we rely on our own strength, but when we put our faith in God and look to Him to be our strength, we know that God will use us to transform this world.

Gentlemen, I challenge you to know who you are and who you were created to be and then to go out and make this world a better place.  Your words and actions can bring a blessing or a curse to the people around you.  Find the gold God knit within you, allow Him to refine you and let the former be true as you live out who you were created to be.

Want some accountability?  Post your statement below for your brothers to see.

Jonathan

Sola scriptura, Sola fide, Sola gratia, Solo Christo, Soli Deo gloria

5 Responses to “Where’s the Gold?”


  1. 1 Jer
    September 23, 2010 at 8:13 pm

    Here’s what I put on my ‘being’ card:

    Vision: To see the Lord, follow him myself, and help others do the same.

    Passion: To live uncompromisingly, by walking humbly with my God.

    Purpose: To be a man after His own heart, and equip and encourage others to do so, as well.

  2. 2 Michael
    September 28, 2010 at 10:17 am

    I put down to strive to live like Daniel, to be a man after God’s own heart.

  3. 3 rloesing
    September 28, 2010 at 10:22 am

    Being:

    I am one for others. I am truly happy when those around me are happy.

  4. 4 Daniel Robertson
    September 28, 2010 at 11:46 am

    I am not to be overcome by evil, but to overcome evil with good. Rom. 12:21

  5. 5 juredivino
    September 28, 2010 at 9:35 pm

    I am a deeply flawed man, trying to become what God wants me to be: On ewho loves the Lord with all my heart, soul, and mind, and one who loves his neighbor as himself.


Leave a Reply

eNgage web site logo

A work in Progress

NEXT MEETING:

Wednesday Jan 26th 2011
8:00 AM - George Page Commons

Word of the Day

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Oct »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Archives

Enter your E-mail and keep eNgaged to our new content by e-mail.

Join 10 other followers

Tweets


