27
Oct
10

Encourage One Another in Love

– Ephesians 5:2 –

Live a life of love, just as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us as a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God.

This verse in particular stood out to me because it’s not only a call to challenge ourselves but a challenge of something of which may not be our strong suit. Growing up in my household, the way my Father would express his love to his three boys was to put them through physical pain. He never missed an opportunity to playfully punch or attempt to wrestle. Even at his age today (55) and though I could probably give him a stroke, he continues this sort of behavior. Though every once and a while, and more frequently as time has gone by, I will exchange the words “I love you.”

I think as guys it is particularly difficult to express appreciation and love to one another. For most of us, it may be something that is not innate or instinctive to do. This semester with giving “words of encouragement” at the end of each Engage meeting, I think it has instilled in us a practice to do these things. Let’s continue to do these things but expand it to our daily lives. When I was young, getting a kiss on the cheek or hug from my mother (especially my father) when I was dropped off from school had to go down as one of the more embarrassing moments of my youth. Yet the irony of it is that it is probably the most memorable habits of my childhood. You mature and realize that being tough and having a “cool” outward appearance amounts to nothing in retrospect.

Michael

 

0 Responses to “Encourage One Another in Love”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

eNgage web site logo

A work in Progress

NEXT MEETING:

Wednesday Jan 26th 2011
8:00 AM - George Page Commons

Word of the Day

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

Enter your E-mail and keep eNgaged to our new content by e-mail.

Join 9 other followers

Tweets


